Beware of the Workplace Potty

For months now, I’ve been getting my exercise each day by taking the stairs. My stair climbing isn’t necessarily to get in shape although I desperately need to, it’s to find a bathroom that doesn’t make me want to throw up, pass out, or kill the nasty broad who feels her target doesn’t necessarily have to be the commode.   It seems that others share my sentiment.  I’m noticing familiar faces in the pristine bathrooms as many as 6 floors away as people branch out for at the very least, clean air.   I don’t know what’s up with the women that we work with, but they obviously need a course on hygiene. 

It’s actually gotten so bad that the higher ups have taken notice, constant emails being sent to the everyone that, if read by a stranger, it would be seen as a joke.  But even walk past the 10th floor women’s bathroom and you may just lose your lunch. 

Don’t believe that women could be so disgusting?  Check the evidence below……

Sent: Friday, February 03, 2012 5:45 PM

Subject: Womens Restroom
Importance: High

Hi Everyone,

Today we had to call building maintenance to the ladies restroom two times due to toilet flooding. This was due to putting large amounts of hard to flush items in the toilet. Today it was caused by paper towels but this is a reoccurring issue and other items are being flushed as well. Please make sure that you are not flushing anything non-human in origin besides toilet paper or the paper seat covers. They are designed to break down quickly in water. Paper towels are designed to hold together in water. Don’t forget that there are trash cans in each stall for other items. Thanks for your prompt attention to this matter!

Regards,

Sent: Tuesday, February 28, 2012 4:12 PM

Subject: Please Read: Ladies Rest Room
Importance: High

Good Afternoon,

It’s my extreme displeasure to have to send this email again. Ladies, when you use the restroom it is very important to realize that someone else will eventually come into that same stall and would appreciate not seeing the mess that is being left on the toilet seat! We are all adults and should not have to be told that you need to flush the toilet; and if you get something on the seat it’s common courtesy to clean YOUR mess YOUR self. Please be sure to clean up after yourself! This includes dropping paper towels all over the floor and counter too. Do not dispose of your lunch trash in the restroom trash can, it’s too small and fills up fast. Don’t forget that we have clients here almost every day!!!! We also share this floor with other’s who are not affiliated with (us). Thank you for taking this seriously and doing your part in making this a better work place for all.

The last one was sent from one of the higher ups…..

Sent: Thursday, March 08, 2012 1:12 PM

Subject: Restroom Embarrassment – 10th floor

Hi Ladies

It is with great disappointment that I have to send out an e-mail like this. Particularly as it may not apply to all individuals on this e-mail and only a select few that force individuals to address an issue such as this.

The women’s restroom on the 10th floor is embarrassing. I have had numerous complaints from (our) employees and today a guest that is here visiting (us), that the 10th floor restroom was unbearable and that they had to find another restroom in the building. Please note that every time there is an unsanitary ‘mess’ we have to advise building maintenance to send a maintenance individual to take care of the issue – ultimately it is always poor RJ or Pete that have to call in the issue which I am sure is very embarrassing for them.

We are supposed to be ladies and take pride in ourselves and our environments. We are also to show respect for our fellow colleagues and guests. We can show this by not leaving the restroom in an unsanitary mess as it was found this morning. Please remember that you share these restrooms with a few other individuals who include your colleagues, friends, guests and clients of (our company) and next time you use the 10th floor restroom. I would like to encourage you to ask yourself one question before you leave:

Is this how I would leave my restroom at home?

If the answer is no, then clean it up, it is your mess! If the answer is yes, then clean it up out of respect for others.

I hope that this issue does not persist and we will not have to send out an e-mail of this nature again.

In order to not embarrass us ladies any further – I have tried to not send this to the whole company, if I have left anyone off the list please do not hesitate to forward to those individuals

If you have concerns or items that you need to discuss in this regard please do not hesitate to e-mail me.

Thank you

I continue to go to other floors.  Even washing my hands in the 1oth floor sink leaves me feeling like I must dip my hands in alcohol aftwerwards.  Last week, I went into the “kitchen” to get water from the water cooler, using my sleeve on the nozzle so I didn’t have to touch something that some unclean person may have touched, when I noticed a coworker laying layers upon layers of paper towel on a chair.  I asked her what she was doing as she sat down on at least twenty pieces of paper.

“You’ve seen that bathroom.  Whomever sat in there, may have sat here too,” was her reply to me.

“Good point,” I replied as I used my sleeve again to open the door.

 

Leave a comment